1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Scotland: what maths qualifications are needed for jobs/courses (inc. Lifeskills Maths & Maths)

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by Smeddlesboy, Dec 25, 2015.

1. Smeddlesboy

Smeddlesboy New commenter

I've been teaching Lifeskills maths for the last two years, and I often get asked about whether Universities, colleges, employers will accept it in the same way as "regular" maths.

For that reason I'm going to do a bit of research to try and find out which jobs, courses etc. have specific requirements when it comes to maths. I thought I'd post this thread to ask if anybody knew of:
    1. particular jobs and courses that require any specific Maths qualification at any level (Nat 3, Nat 4, Nat 5, Higher, Adv Higher, degree) so that I can create a list for pupils
    and then more specifically for when it comes to Maths vs Lifeskills Maths...
    1. any employers/universities/colleges who will *only* accept Mathematics for their course/job and not Lifeskills Maths
    2. any employers/universities/colleges who will accept *either* Maths or Lifeskills Maths
    I don't particularly want to get into discussing the merits of either course in this thread; or in the problems that may or may not have been encountered with the various exams last year - although if someone else wants to create a separate thread to discuss this then I certainly have some opinions!

So far I have found the following:
    • Army/Navy require no specific qualifications (unless you want to be an officer). Most Air Force careers seem to require minimum of National 5: I've emailed to ask them if they would treat Lifeskills and Maths as comparable.