1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

ScienceTechnician looking to be a teacher

Discussion in 'Staff, pupil & parent's wellbeing' started by PoojaVedpathak, Jun 3, 2020.

1. PoojaVedpathak

PoojaVedpathak New commenter

Hello everyone!
    I am currently working as a Science technician in a Secondary School in England. I am a qualified teacher from India with my Masters Degree in Microbiology. I moved to UK in 2016 and then started working as LSA / TA in a Primary School. I was offered to do a teaching course from the school, which I was interested in, but due to pregnancy and moving to other place couldn't do it. After a gap of 18 months I have completed 1year as a Science Technician and would like to reconsider to be a teacher in secondary school.

Currently, I am an Indian passport holder where as my husband and daughter are British passport holders. I would like your valuable suggestions regarding :
    1. Will my passport status affect the application process in any way?
    2. The work done a TA/LSA in Primary and current Sci Tech experience be counted?
    3. Which are the possible routes to get the teaching degree along with working in a school?

Any views / experiences / thoughts /suggestions would be really helpful to me.

Thanks

2. Owleyes00

Owleyes00 New commenter

1) I’m not an expert but you might find that you have to pay international fees
    2) absolutely. Based on your credentials I think you will be snapped up
    3) you have a choice between university and school based training routes:
    https://getintoteaching.education.gov.uk/

agathamorse and PoojaVedpathak like this.
  3. Corvuscorax

Corvuscorax Star commenter