1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Science teachers- advice needed

Discussion in 'Science' started by Janey214, Feb 16, 2016.

1. Janey214

Janey214 New commenter

Hi there,

I am a trainee secondary Biology teacher and I am looking for advice from any science teachers out there. When you started teaching the curriculum how did you manage the workload of learning the material you would teach in each of your lessons and planning your lessons at the same time? I have had to freeze my PGCE studies to allow for time to revise the curriculum. It was becoming unmanageable trying to learn the material I would teach and plan the lessons at the same time. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

2. ScienceGuy

ScienceGuy Established commenter

I was fortunate to have studied all 3 sciences to A level so I had a good background in all 3. I did have to spend time on refreshing my Physics knowledge and, having attempted a couple of GCSE papers, was able to focus on the topics I understood the least.

That said, do not expect complete understanding until you have taught a topic a couple of times. Being able to recall facts is very different to truely understanding the concepts. Even now, after teaching for 19 years, there are still topics I am not 100% on (motors and generators).