1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Science Fiction Must-Sees?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by Eva_Smith, Aug 30, 2011.

1. Eva_Smith

Eva_Smith Established commenter

I'm teaching GCSE Media Studies, I've just been informed, from September which I've never done before and am having a mild panic attack. Apparently the first unit has to be on Science Fiction and I have two major problems: 1) I can't stand the genre, 2) I've actively avoided it as far as possible since deciding that films with aliens, outer space and the imminent end of the world were just not my cup of tea.
    So, I need a crash course in Sci-fi.
    What should I absolutely watch in order to gain a good understanding of what science fiction is all about and what it's conventions are? Normally, if I was teaching a novel (nice, safe ground for me) I'd have a really broad background knowledge of references and information to draw on the help the kids' understanding. I'm afraid my knowledge of science fiction extends to about 2.5 episodes of Doctor Who and the woeful space film Armageddon.
    Help????
    [​IMG]

2. Anonymous

Anonymous New commenter

ET and Close Encounters - the best sci fi movies ever.

3. lurk_much

lurk_much Occasional commenter

well you started badly, it can only get better.

4. short circuit, alien (might be an 18), terminator (terminator 2 is a 15 and the later ones might be younger), blade runner, minority report, irobot, total recall (18), day of the triffids (BBC series and recent TV film), solaris, hitch hikers guide to the galaxy, matrix x3, iron man and iron man 2.

5. If you are going to watch it, then alien, blade runner and terminator are a must.

6. Crowbob

Crowbob Established commenter