1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Science club ideas!

Discussion in 'Science' started by Laurakitty, Jul 16, 2009.

1. Hi all, I'm going to be running a science club next year; as a biologist I'm wondering if anyone has any good biology-based activities to do in a 20-30 mins slot. Currently i'm thinking of growing sunflowers, making bird/animal feeders, hatching sea-monkeys. Also, it needs to be stuff I don't normally do in lessons.

Many thanks.

2. 1) Our local dentist gives me old teeth that he has extracted (about once a year if I ask him nicley) & I have used them to demonstrate mass lost whe left in cola. You have to weigh them on VERY sensitive scales & make sure they are completely dry at the end of the experiment. It can take several weeks to lose a decent % of mass!
    2) Dissecting stuff always goes down well: daffodils, sheeps eyes, hearts, chicken wings.....
    3) Finding stuff out like the ratio of body size or longevity to gestation period for mammals ..... and then plotting a graph of the data.
    4) letting a plant (or certain of its leaves) grow in light of specific wavelengths / colours to see which wavelengths are actually used / needed. The physics dept could give you some filters and UV light sources.
    5) Using an IR camera to determine how heat is distributed over the surface area of live objects - people, plants, small animals ...... You would need to explain what the camera detects before using it with pupils. I know someone who used IR images to detect copper toxicity in plants in southern Africa and accidentally discovered a copper mine as a result! (the plants that were toxic were growing on copper deposits).
    ... can't think of any more for the moment....