1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

schools doing the creative curriculum

Discussion in 'Primary' started by groovyshell83, Oct 18, 2008.

1. groovyshell83

groovyshell83 Occasional commenter

Hi. I am a teacher in an Enfield school where we are trying to implement the creative curriculum but are having a lot of trouble tryingt o find common ground on what it should look like eg who plans what, is it the children being creative or the teachers, what skills should be included in the curriculum eg is it the nc skills or subject specific skills. what should the planning look like etc. Any information from schools that are doing this or could offer any good advice would be great. Please let me know. Thanks

Michelle

2. groovyshell83

groovyshell83 Occasional commenter

surely there must be some of you???? I thought this creative curriculum was the done thing these days!

3. Hi Groovyshell

I have some good plans etc, mail me on monique_malone123@hotmail.com and I will send you some :)

4. I have now worked in two schools that have used a creative / thematic curriculum. The reason I got the job at school 2 is my experience from my first school I guess.

The best method to make it link nicely is to take some time with all teachers (INSET?) And get them to create a topic web - which units they already do that fit togeher - there are normally some - create a subject web.

Then for those foundation subjects look at the core skill that is being taught (THis normally works best for D&T, Art, Music) and fit them into the web by adjusting the focus - e.g. This meant for us to change Talking Textiles to fit with a space theme (Actually very easy) and the pupiuls created a woven planet picture.