1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Schools direct QTS.. Can contact time count towards NQT?

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by lwarrenswettenham, Sep 24, 2018.

1. Hi all,

Main question is, if you have done a schools direct vs uni pgce can you use the extended contact time to count towards your NQT?

I completed my QTS via a schools direct pgce programme. I consequently got burn out and am now looking at ways of completing my NQT in a more life friendly way!

I have delved through all the official docs provided by gov.com and can't seem to find the mandatory contact hours in school for a pgce student. As a schools direct trainee I was in school 4 days a week from the beginning of September for a full school year, teaching from the get go and teaching close to full weeks for the summer term.

My query is, that this teaching time seems above that for uni route pgce placements... I may be wrong as can't find any info... So surely should be counted?!

I may be clasping at straws but would be great to know how people have got their NQT ticked off on a part time basis. I'm currently working part time as a TA but already getting asked to cover teachers in a teaching role....

THANK YOU !

2. blueskydreaming

blueskydreaming Lead commenter

You can't count teaching time towards your NQT year from before you qualified as a teacher - you did not qualify until about June of the PGCE.

The NQT year isn't about ticking off a certain number of hours of teaching - it's about you showing that you can meet the teacher standards over time, and providing evidence for that, like you did on the PGCE but with less support.