1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

School want evidence of teaching experience - pay dilemma

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by enthuseteach, Aug 1, 2018.

1. enthuseteach

enthuseteach New commenter

I was extremely pleased to have been offered a new position at a great school. However, I recieved my offer letter today and was shocked to find that they are not going to pay me at the level I was expecting. I am an experienced teacher; I crossed the threshold some years ago. I spent some years out of teaching then returned to the profession, first as a supply teacher and then as a teacher at an independent school. I then spent the last year working as a supply teacher again whilst looking for my perfect post. I have queried the pay and they have said that they came to a decision based on the rate I was paid on supply. They say that in order to be paid more I need to provide performance management evidence of satisfactory completion of each year of teaching experience in a state school. As it was so long ago that I reached my present level on the scale I don't think I will have any paperwork to prove my experience. Anyone else been in this position? What to do? I really want the job but feel that going down this far on the scale is unfair and detrimental to my future pay level.

install likes this.
  2. PeterQuint

PeterQuint Lead commenter

Off the top of my head, the easiest way to demonstrate how much pay you’ve been on is by printing off your employment history on your pension benefit statement.

Mrsmumbles, install, Pomza and 5 others like this.
  3. mothorchid

mothorchid Star commenter

Stingy b*ggers.