1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

School Placements

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by joey81, Apr 17, 2012.

1. joey81

joey81 New commenter

Hi! I've only just joined these forums but there's so much on here I'm going to stick around and read it all I think over the next few years! [​IMG]
    I'm currently studying my SKE course which ends in July but I can't start my PGCE until January 2013 because I have to await my degree classification in December. I'm studying the PGCE through the OU (I've seen a few posts about it) but they no longer arrange placements as standard so I'm required to find my own Level 1 placement for March/April 2013.
    I had trouble last year getting even 1 observation day from any schools, more often than not I got no response at all and was actively avoided! I've now been awarded the IoP Scholarship thinking it may help to find me a placement but the general response is "no vacancies at present" or "we are unable to accomodate you".
    I have tried phoning, emailing, dropping in, posting things... does anyone have any suggestions? I live in Bristol and I think the schools here are all partner schools to UWE and Bristol Uni and I'm terrified I won't find a placement at all. I've got 2 young children and 1 is at school so moving around the country isn't an option. Help! [​IMG]

2. sleepyhead

sleepyhead New commenter

Dropping in won't help. In my school, it's me you'd need to speak to and turning up on the doorstep is unlikey to have you arrive when I am free! My advice would be to call the school and ask for the contact information of the Professional Mentor, and then email them.