1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

School nursery increasing number of children and workload

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Seadream, Sep 29, 2018.

1. Seadream

Seadream New commenter

I am a nursery teacher (jobshare) and since September my headteacher has allowed 2yr olds (turning 3 this term) to start and has increased the numbers so much that by April there will be over 70 children in the nursery with over 50 in one session. I am finding the increasing numbers and workload impossible to manage and cannot see how it is fair that I have to plan for, assess, track and manage over twice as many children as other teachers in the school. I have previously taught in several older year groups and have never had a workload like this before. I have a couple of TAs who are also key workers (but they don't get PPA and so I have to do all their assessing etc) to keep me in ratio but the job is getting out of hand!
    Any advice on how to manage this? I have vocalised how wrong I feel it is to have so many children in the nursery, but to the school, they're money. Feel on the verge of a nervous breakdown....

2. grumbleweed

grumbleweed Lead commenter

Hi.
    It isn't unusual to have up to 52 per session with one teacher, although there should be another, in reality it often doesn't happen. My worst was 39 am and pm as the only teacher, and yes it ran me ragged.
    But you should have more than two TAs if you have more than 39 children per session. That's a statutory ratio (13 to 1) so if you are not meeting this, you should talk to the head.