1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

School gave me a laptop - which I have to replace if it gets lost/stolen?

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by lotrrulzu, Jul 31, 2011.

1. Hello,

I am an unqualified teacher starting at a school in September.

The school have given me a laptop to use in the classrooms for the electronic whiteboard, register and my personal work. There aren't PCs in the classrooms.

I have signed a contract which says that the school doesn't insure the laptops and

"that the school has the right to recover, in full and directly from my salary, the replacement costs (£608 inclusive of extended warranty) or any other costs associated with the loss or damage for whatever reason."

Can I insure the laptop myself, even though I don't own it?

2. Hello,

I am an unqualified teacher starting at a school in September.

The school have given me a laptop to use in the classrooms for the electronic whiteboard, register and my personal work. There aren't PCs in the classrooms.

I have signed a contract which says that the school doesn't insure the laptops and

"that the school has the right to recover, in full and directly from my salary, the replacement costs (£608 inclusive of extended warranty) or any other costs associated with the loss or damage for whatever reason."

Can I insure the laptop myself, even though I don't own it?

3. BillyBobJoe

BillyBobJoe Occasional commenter

Not sure, but I'd get in touch with my union if I were you.

4. Thanks. Just in the process of joining a union. I don't think this is right but I don't want to rock the boat at school.

5. coppull

coppull New commenter