1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

School Direct (Salaried) Is it a real option?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by g_a_willson, Feb 19, 2020.

1. g_a_willson

g_a_willson New commenter

Hi, first time posting here so thanks for all the help from people who have commented on other posts before that have helped me in the past without meaning to.

I've been teaching in Thailand for over 9 years now, all actual schools and not language centres, I completed a PGCEi last year and have been applying for jobs back in the UK. I didn't think the School Direct route would be an option to me as I need a set minimum salary to be able to make coming back feasible, but having looked at the salaries it could be an option. However, having spoken to some people it seems that it's difficult to get on this course unless you're already working at a school. Is this true? And what are other people's experiences of getting onto the School direct (salaried) course.

Thank you for your help and sorry if it doesn't really make sense, hope it does.

2. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

Do you need to do something like Schools Direct? Does your PGCEi not qualify you to teach in England?

3. g_a_willson

g_a_willson New commenter

It doesn't give QTS, which is why I'm looking at School direct as if I went the assessment only route for QTS it is 5k. My thinking is with the school direct route I may receive more support and end up with QTs for cheaper. However, having talked to a few friends who have done the school direct route the support is from the school so it might not be that much of a difference.

4. citruspers

citruspers New commenter