1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Scholarships for kids a benefit against pay?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by kamon, Dec 4, 2019 at 2:13 AM.

1. kamon

kamon New commenter

I'm currently in discussions about my salary - I work for a small, well-funded international school in the Americas with high fees, have 2 kids on full scholarships, am deputy head of junior school responsible for 9 classes/ 160 students but have been split between teaching a full class and management role over the past 3.5 years. I have 14 years of international experience across 3 schools.
    The last 4 years since being promoted here I've been so focused on the demands of my two roles and having young kids of my own that I've not been thinking clearly about my career and compensation, just getting through the tasks directly ahead of me...

My two questions:
    - Are full scholarships for a teacher's children a standard benefit in international schools? This shouldn't be held against pay, right? ("Yes, you contribute an enormous amount to the school, but having your 2 kids here is a HUGE benefit, worth a great amount...")

- What would be a normal % difference between a "main-class teacher" and a person in my role? (Most of our international teachers have between 1/3 and 1/2 of my teaching experience, and no additional responsibilities.)

Thanks in advance for your input and time to reply.

2. amysdad

amysdad Established commenter

To answer your points: