1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Scary HMRC letter... please help!

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by ed717, Nov 21, 2017.

1. ed717

ed717 New commenter

Hi all,

I have been teaching abroad in Sri Lanka for about 15 months now and was planning to return back to see family and friends for two weeks at Christmas... but a letter has been sent to my mum's address with the headline 'your tax return for the year ended 5 April 2016 is more than 3 months late' and 'after 7th October 2017 a daily penalty of 10 pounds a day is payable for each day your tax return is outstanding'
    What tax return?? I had no idea as nobody has explained any of this to me. If I am earning overseas and not living in the UK, I don't still have to pay tax surely? How would I even do it from here - I no longer have a UK bank account as it went dormant, and I couldn't re-open it when I was last in the UK due to not having sufficient proof of address within the last 3 months.
    I am now unsure whether it is safe to come back at Christmas or not - could they actually prevent me from leaving back to Sri Lanka in January at the airport because of this when they scan my passport? I'm really confused at this situation and not sure how to handle it... I am reluctant to contact HMRC as if they do demand a massive sum I won't be able to pay - I am 26 and living life to the full and have no savings yet to deal with unplanned situations like this... Does anyone else have experience with this?

Thanks!

2. 576

576 Established commenter

You need to contact HMRC. They'll sort it out.