1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Scared of my mentor

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by maralex86, Apr 26, 2017.

Tags:
  1. maralex86

maralex86 New commenter

Hello!

I am a trainee teacher and I am currently doing my third placement. I am lucky to be placed in a lovely school, with nice students and great stuff, however I am not happy because I am really scared of my mentor. He is not a bad guy but he is totally unpredictable and he can be really scary when he is in a bad mood. He has a great personality when he teaches, he is been doing it for a very long time and I sometimes feel that he wants me to teach like him and he is not happy when I don't do it like he likes. I get really anxious when I have to teach his classes and it is affecting my life because I can barely sleep and I am nervous most of the time, especially when I have to see him in the morning and I don't know how he is going to be. He can be a really nice guy and supportive sometimes, but other times he can be a nightmare and I can't continue like that. The thing is I only have three weeks more to get my final report and I need to overcome this. Any advice?

pepper5 likes this.
  2. Hopeful25

Hopeful25 New commenter

Hello, would it be ok if I PM'ed you?

3. GirlGremlin

GirlGremlin Occasional commenter

What do you mean by nightmare?

Unfortunately, I feel like you may need to get used to having a thicker skin; this is incredibly important in teaching!

Are you at risk of failing training? If not, just take it on the chin as constructive criticism... you only have three weeks left after all :)

Pomz, wanet, jarndyce and 1 other person like this.
  4. grumpydogwoman

grumpydogwoman Star commenter