1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

SATS targets

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by Twigs85, May 3, 2012.

1. Twigs85

Twigs85 New commenter

Hi there,

I'm a Year 2 teacher about to experience SATs for the first time. I have a concern about progress in my class. Every child will meet the expected 2 sub levels progress by the end of the year, however there is a HUGE focus on pushing more able children this year which means that I am having to push most of my class through 3 or 4 sublevels (e.g 1a to a 3c or 2a, even WA to a 2c). The majority of my targets are sitting above the national average of 2b, even though hardly anyone came up as higher than a 1a this year. For an NQT, I feel that this is a big task. I've been looking at my attainment profiles and have just realised that there's a child who needs to go up two sublevels to hit his SATs target i.e. in two weeks! It's not possible. It's been made clear that these targets have to be met and I'm just worried about what will happen if I do what feels right and level them where they actually ARE and not where they are wanted to be. I also don't want to pass the buck to the year 3 teacher by levelling them too high just to meet targets, resulting in a plateau or even in Year 3.

What I'd like to know is - is this normal? Has anyone ever got in trouble for levelling the children and not achieving crazy targets?

Thanks!

2. Twigs85

Twigs85 New commenter

Hi there,