1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

SATs revision

Discussion in 'Primary' started by ekhunter, Jan 24, 2011.

1. Hi!
    Just looking for some advice/help and ideas about SATs revision. It's my first year in Y6 and I'm feeling a little bit lost. Working in a one form entry school means I haven't got another Y6 teacher to lean on and work through this agonising time with!
    What do you do regarding planning revision? When does it start and how do you go about it? I have been advised to go through past papers again and again until the 'holes' have been filled, but to me that seems extremely mundane and possibly ineffective!? I don't know.

So stressed and worried! [​IMG]

2. Hi!
    Just looking for some advice/help and ideas about SATs revision. It's my first year in Y6 and I'm feeling a little bit lost. Working in a one form entry school means I haven't got another Y6 teacher to lean on and work through this agonising time with!
    What do you do regarding planning revision? When does it start and how do you go about it? I have been advised to go through past papers again and again until the 'holes' have been filled, but to me that seems extremely mundane and possibly ineffective!? I don't know.

So stressed and worried! [​IMG]

3. You mustn't let that feeling get to the children is the best advice I can give!
    There have been other posts on this but I would suggest just continuing with a good standard of teaching at the moment. Closer to the time, may be do some recapping of genre features in Literacy and how to answer the questions in Reading. Numeracy can be a simple recap of the different skills too.