1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Satisfactory lesson grading - what to think?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by impulce, Nov 27, 2009.

1. Ive just had my first (ever!) proper observation by our new head and been graded a satisfactory.
    Im in my second year of teaching and did have my NQT year observations but they were more informal chats than proper gradings, and i have never been graded on this scale before.
    It was only a introduction to a lesson she observed, not a whole lesson, and i was graded satisfactory. I have a tricky class behaviour wise, mixed Y1/2 so a huge range of abilities, and a newish boy with severe ADHD. I also had no support. I did what i thought was a good, interactive activity, all children participated and were on task, and i felt confident at the end that it had gone well.
    My feedback was mostly positive, a couple of development points related to pace of lesson which makes sense as it took them ages to get whiteboards and pens out (incidentally, any tips for doing this quickly with KS1?!), but i must admit im a little disheartened because i was graded satisfactory overall.
    The highlighted statements for each lesson grade were not specifically related to my target points.
    I had a few highlighted in 'good' but did not have the statement to do with management of TA highlighted (How can I when i didnt have one?)
    I also didnt get a statement about subject knowledge highlighted - except it was a basic grammatical concept in KS1 and my subject knowledge of it is sound seeing as its only aimed at 6 year olds, so im not sure quite how good they wanted it to be?