1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Sample Letter?

Discussion in 'School trips' started by Darthteacher, Aug 12, 2010.

1. Darthteacher

Darthteacher New commenter

Can anyone supply me with a good letter that I can use as a model when writing home to parents explaining a field trip.

It is the start of the year and I want to send home a general letter telling them that as a science teacher I wish to have their permission to take their child on a school trip. I also want to explain any health and safety/behaviour issues. I also wish to invite the parents to attend and work as an aid on school trips.
    Does anyone know what health and safety standards I need to adhere to if I am taking my children on a pond study unit.
    Thank you so much for any help received. My email is teacherofnature@yahoo.com

2. blazer

blazer Star commenter

You school should have some templates for letters home.

I can't send you a copy of ours but basically the letter home should contain the following information.

The date (s) of the trip
    The place (s) to be visited
    The cost
    The Mode of transportation
    The time and place to meet
    The leaving time
    The arrival back at school time
    Any dress requirements or kit list
    Anything else such as which meals are provided, what equipment is being supplied, what activities will be taking place.

Then you will need a consent form

The consent form should state the dates and location of the visit.
    Then is should have space for the parent to:

Put the name of the child
    Address
    Home Tel No
    Mobile Tel No
    Parent name
    Work tel no
    Other emergency Nos (other relatives etc)
    A space for medical conditions to be noted