1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Salary negotiation

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by island8833, Apr 29, 2018.

1. island8833

island8833 New commenter

I have an interview tomorrow and have been reading conflicting information.
    Is salary normally discussed at interview or on receipt of an offer?

I am keen to attempt to negotiate a higher staring salary as I teach a shortage subject and have 10+ years industry experience. I know this offers no guarantees but I do want to try.

I'm a current PGCE student so I have no experience of how it all works
    Many thanks!

2. welshwizard

welshwizard Established commenter Forum guide

You need to be clear about the salary before you accept the post. Once you have accepted then you lose the impetus for negotiation. Remember offers and acceptances are initially verbal. Do always agree a salary then and make sure that this is confirmed in writing. If you go in with a salary figure or range in mind remember that the induction -10% additional release and professional development programmes- has to be paid for and a higher salary may not result in the availability of training opportunities you would like.

Last edited: Apr 30, 2018
    JohnJCazorla likes this.
  3. JohnJCazorla

JohnJCazorla Star commenter

Firstly, you're already ahead of me (and probably a lot of others on this forum) with your industry experience. I assume this means you are already battle-hardened in pay negotiation and a lot of HR/SLT in schools might not be that good.
    All my skill at negotiation comes from buying drinks for a friend in business-to-business sales who knows nothing about education but everything about haggling.