1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Salary in the UAE

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by NQTabroad, Jan 26, 2011.

1. Hello all,
    I am a fully qualified primary teacher with 2 years UK experience and prior to this I have one years experience teaching English in the UAE. So, in total I have 3 years teaching experience.
    I have been offered a job at a British school outside Dubai for a 9.000 dirhams salary per month. I was a little disappointed as I was hired as an unqualified English teacher for 7.700 dirhams. Seems the additional experience and qualifications do not seem to count for much in this school [​IMG]
    One of my American friends told me not to settle for less than 12.000. Is that rather high or to be expected with my qualifciations and experience?
    Thanks

2. Hello all,
    I am a fully qualified primary teacher with 2 years UK experience and prior to this I have one years experience teaching English in the UAE. So, in total I have 3 years teaching experience.
    I have been offered a job at a British school outside Dubai for a 9.000 dirhams salary per month. I was a little disappointed as I was hired as an unqualified English teacher for 7.700 dirhams. Seems the additional experience and qualifications do not seem to count for much in this school [​IMG]
    One of my American friends told me not to settle for less than 12.000. Is that rather high or to be expected with my qualifciations and experience?
    Thanks

3. stopwatch

stopwatch Occasional commenter

9,000 is a little on the low side. 12,000 is more reasonable. However, you don't have many years experience.