1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Salary in internatioonal schools

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Zahra9345, Dec 26, 2019.

1. Zahra9345

Zahra9345 New commenter

Hi,
    I'm starting to apply to teaching jobs in the Middle East . This is my fourth year teaching and I'm a primary teacher.

Will the salary be similar to what we we earn in the UK or more? A school I'm applying to has asked in the application form what I want my monthly wages to be so that's why I'm asking

2. 576

576 Established commenter

Key factors in deciding how much is enough are cost of living. Numbeo.com is really helpful for this and whether or not there is a pension scheme.

3. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

If they are asking you this then they are trying to pay you as little as possible. Decent schools will have a set pay scale that they will give you before they offer you a job. Generally international teachers earn more than the UK, plus have the usual bonus of free accommodation etc on top ( unless you are in western Europe). As an average you should be taking home around $40 000 a year plus package. It is possible to earn upto, and over $100 000 take home a year as a classroom teacher, plus benefits.

4. february31st

february31st Established commenter

In the real world 9/10 international schools are for profit organizations and therefore want to employ manual labour at the cheapest price. The majority of schools run to a business plan, spreadsheet and educational values come last in the list of priorities.