1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

salary guess-timates for this postion please?

Discussion in 'Independent' started by tartetatin, Jan 29, 2011.

1. tartetatin

tartetatin New commenter

Hello everyone, [​IMG]
    I would be most grateful for your help on this. Basically, I am a qualified secondary school teacher (obtained my PGCE at Cambridge) and have several years teaching experience at an independent school.
    I am also a mum to 3 young children and have been very much immersed in this role for some time! I now feel ready to start applying for jobs, but not necessarily teaching postions. Having been at home for so long, my self-confidence is pretty low and I don't feel quite ready for the chalkface yet.
    However, I have only just come across a vacancy at a local private school. It's for the role of part-time houseparent, to boarders. I feel this would be a good stepping stone and I feel quite excited at the prospect of working with young people, who happen to be unrelated to me, once again! I also feel that I have lots to offer.
    If I were to secure the position, I would need to arrange childcare for my own children and, to sound perfectly blunt, I'm not sure if it would be worth my while financially.
    Please could you give me a rough idea of how much I could expect to be paid for this role. My last school was a day school, so I am quite unfamiliar with the whole boarding scenario. It's part-time, two days and two evenings a week, term-time only (so no holiday pay, at a guess), salary based on experience, etc. etc.
    Thank you very much indeed. [​IMG]

2. tartetatin

tartetatin New commenter