1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Salary for IB school in Southern Spain

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by valem, Jan 29, 2016.

1. valem

valem New commenter

Hi all.....searched the forum and I am finding many conflicting answers to the salary question.
    I'm mindful I can't name the schools.....or can I?

I've applied for Maths teaching jobs in well known and well established (I think) international schools in Spain ( Marbella area and Sotogrande area if that helps) and have two interviews next week and wondered if anybody can give me a ball park figure for a starting salary? And also what other benefits I should (or should not) expect.... I'm new to international schools but have taught for 15 years in the UK. I have a young son coming up to school starting age.

I'm aware that it's not going to be as high as the UK and that cost of living is possibly less, but I'm trying to work out what would be a reasonable expectation for the first year or two?

Thanks

2. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

Are you registered with Search Associates? If not, then do it, its free for Brits. It would give you a breakdown of salary and saving potential and whats included in the package (still dont know why TES doesn't do this), as i presume the job will also be advertised there. Its a school in Western Europe, do dont expect to much from the "package".

3. valem

valem New commenter

Thanks for your reply....

I've Checked at search associates and its a similar story..."competitive salary" .

I guess I just really need to know what is a decent salary for an experienced teacher at an IB or International school in Spain so I can at least have an idea?