1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Salary Bangkok KS2

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by ciaraespana, Nov 7, 2019 at 4:49 PM.

1. ciaraespana

ciaraespana New commenter

Good afternoon all,

I've seen a couple of positions in Bangkok for KS2 teachers and wonder if any of you can give me an idea of the sort of salary you can expect to receive in Bangkok? Also housing allowance etc. I have nine years experience in the international environment and am just starting to look at some of the positions for next year.

Thanks in advance,

2. grdwdgrrrl

grdwdgrrrl Occasional commenter

Hi there. For some schools, the top point you can enter at is 6 years, some it's 9-10. At that point the salary can be anywhere from 90-126 or so thousand baht (I've seen a couple salary scales from mid to top schools). Some have housing allowances that are built into that salary and some are separate and will add on another 25-35,000 baht to your paycheck (which you'll be taxed on). Some have flights every year for the whole family and some only for the teacher and some only end of contract. Some provide health coverage for the whole family and some cover just the teacher with a bit of help for the dependents.
    It's all over the place really. Each school is slightly different but it kinda works out even if you don't have dependents. I can send you a pm and talk about my school specifically.

3. fordseries123

fordseries123 New commenter

Excellent summary. I would just add it if you have children, then their fees should be free. Most Tier 1 schools will give you a free lunch each day and finally you should get a bonus at the end of the contract.

4. worlo24

worlo24 New commenter