1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Salaries in Spain

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by viccazwilk, Mar 25, 2017.

Tags:
  1. viccazwilk

viccazwilk New commenter

Hi, I have never taught abroad before but it is something I have always wanted to do. I have been applying for jobs in various places and have decided if I go, I would like to try Europe first. I have two Skype interviews next week for schools in Spain but I am very concerned about the salaries they are offering. Both are offering a net salary of around $1,500 per month. Having done a ridiculous amount of research and spent a long time balancing my finances, I feel this is just too low. I have 4 years experience but I just don't think I could justify this salary. One school is in Madrid and the other in Valencia. Any advice greatly appreciated. Thanks

2. silverfern

silverfern New commenter

I have never taught in Spain, but take a look at other forum threads about Spain on here... Many suggest that Spain is among the lowest-paying destinations in Europe, if not the world. Of course, money isn't everything, but one has to be able to pay the bills! (Also check whether that salary is for 12 months of the year, or if it's a 10-month contract).

Good luck!

3. viccazwilk

viccazwilk New commenter

It is definitely paid for July and August or so it says in the information they sent me. Thanks for the support and advice.

4. lottee1000

lottee1000 Occasional commenter

Where in Valencia? If you PM me I can give you info about specific schools. That is very low, even for Spain though!

5. karel

karel Occasional commenter