1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Safer recruitment- Supply teacher with gaps in employment history

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by MrsWoo1969, Sep 18, 2017.

1. MrsWoo1969

MrsWoo1969 New commenter

HI- I am a newly appointed head teacher working in the independent special school sector. I am in the process of recruiting a new teacher and several applicants have gaps in their employment history because they have been doing supply teaching for a number of years... I am not sure how this fits in with the Safer Recruitment legislation... Of course I know that being an experienced supply teacher does not mean someone is sinister or suspicious but how do I ensure I am following the guidance? Any thoughts or advice appreciated!

2. thekillers1

thekillers1 Lead commenter

If the supply teacher was with numerous supply agencies, ask for references from the supply agencies. For example: Teaching Personnel and Capita offer references which focuses on safeguarding and a general or generic grading from schools, re. Performance and service. If they don't, you could ask for the list of schools they have supplied, including any safeguarding concerns mentioned.

3. Rott Weiler

Rott Weiler Star commenter Forum guide

@the killers advice is good.

I'm not sure though why you describe doing supply teaching as "gaps in their employment history". Surely it just means they have lots of employers in their employment history?

There's no 'one size' fits all' answer. A pattern of supply where the teacher had hundreds of one or two day supply contracts is very different to a teacher whose supply was a term each at a handful of schools.