1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Sacked for being an idiot...

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Snowflake79, Nov 29, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Snowflake79

Snowflake79 New commenter

Hello, I was after some advice...

So, I am new to supply, left a very long term and only long term position of 16 years recently to explore new horizons. I’m supply teaching to stay afloat...

I am assigned to a school a few weeks ago, a day here and a day there, they loved me and requested me since and just booked me for a block until Christmas...
    I didn’t realise but prior to half term ( 4 weeks ish ) ago they were OFSTED inspected. They went from outstanding to requires improvement. The news was made public today. Assemblies going on, embarrassing accusations of off rolling embarrassing really.
    How does this affect little old me then I hear you wonder.
    So I have built a good relationship with the school and have returned many times and I think my success is due to after 16 years in an inner city Bradford school, and only having just left the profession, I know my stuff. Never really have an issue with behaviour, don’t really need to bug anyone once I’m rolling and it’s all usually a very pleasant experience Thankyou very much.....
    Regardless of the above there are always some students who will try it on, especially with supply. This is usually dealt with and school behaviour policy followed.
    In this particular case today, a notorious student refused to stop causing commotion and had to be room removed.