1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Sabbaticals

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by oceanroc7, Sep 17, 2018.

1. oceanroc7

oceanroc7 New commenter

Has anyone out there actually asked for a sabbatical?
    I am a very jaded teacher and am thinking of asking my Head for 6 months off. A change of direction and some breathing space for a while might just keep me in the profession until I retire in about 10 years. I am just starting my 25th year of teaching.
    The alternative - carrying on as I am for another 10 years without a break - getting older and more exhausted - is unthinkable.
    Any advice from anyone would be very welcome.

2. Ex-teacher

Ex-teacher Occasional commenter

I asked for, and was given, a years sabbatical back in 1999/2000. I'd been teaching 10 years, and wanted a break.

Went travelling for 10 months, did a bit of supply at the end of the summer term, and went back in September with batteries fully charged and ready for another 10 years.

Its something that I feel anyone should be given the opportunity to do if they wish to, although I can see why, with current recruitment issues, the answer is usually no.

agathamorse and oceanroc7 like this.
  3. oceanroc7

oceanroc7 New commenter

I can see that the answer will probably be no. However I can always ask - and if the answer is no I can resign and then just hope there is a science teacher job to come back to. It might not be in the same school, but looking at the TES job vacancies, it could be nearby! The question is - what to do with the 6 months.

agathamorse likes this.
  4. ScienceGuy

ScienceGuy Established commenter