1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

S3 / Year 9: Tips for Doing a Josef Mengele class

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by lfuller18, Jan 18, 2019.

1. lfuller18

lfuller18 New commenter

Hi there,

I'm a student teacher and have been asked to plan a lesson on Josef Mengele but I'm really at a loss as to how I can create a beneficial and meaningful activity that makes sense and doesn't spend too much time working on sources or extraction from sources exercise as we've done those to the max throughout our Holocaust module.

Any tips would be much appreciated.
    Best wishes,

Liam

2. sabrinakat

sabrinakat Star commenter

You could do an ethics topic linked with Nazism (one of my tutors did that) and instead of just giving the horrific and sickening details. This would be more active and the students could also look at other experiments, such as Tuskagee or how society treats those they deem 2nd class or even not human.

It might offer a different perspective to them.

SK

3. FrankWolley

FrankWolley Star commenter

I think (as a retired History teacher with more than 30 years experience) that you have been given a pretty thankless task; I wouldn't really want to teach such a lessons myself. (Not to Y9!)

But if I had to, I might start looking here: https://www.het.org.uk/

4. Eszett

Eszett New commenter

There is a German movie about Mengele, in the style of a fictional courtroom drama. Quite thought-provoking and created a lot of discussion at the time.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/After_the_Truth