1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Running a form group - HELP!!

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by tobyr2385, Apr 16, 2012.

1. Dear all,
    I have a form group and the teacher I'm running it with said to be this morning "They're all yours!". I'm trying to stay positive, my tutor group are a nice group of hardworking kids so in theory there aren't too many issues to deal with.
    However, as I have had limited experience in this role, I have no idea about how to go about being a form tutor, as ironic as that sounds as I'm just about managing to be a teacher at the moment, without the added pressure of playing form tutor.
    We have assembly once a week, check planners for parents' signatures, check their uniform daily and count merit totals as well, but apart from that I am well and truly stuck for ideas. Is there anything that works for you, in your role?

2. sleepyhead

sleepyhead New commenter

Sadly, that is part of the role and one that I push the trainees into early doors, for that reason.
    I am a VI form tutor, so my role is very different, but the trainees I work with (I am their PM) all have their routines which include any/all of:
    - silent reading
    - news quizzes
    - word games
    - team challenges
    - revision tips and sessions
    - topical discussion (organised rather than them all yelling over one another!)
    - equipment check
    - homework time

3. PinkHelen

PinkHelen New commenter