1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Romans - please help!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by rosh89, Dec 23, 2010.

1. Hi
    I am a student teacher and was wondering if somebody could please help me.
    In January I will be teaching the Romans topic to year 4 children. I will be teaching the first two lessons of the topic and I will have two full afternoons for the history lessons. I really want to make my lessons fun and interesting but I am unsure on what exactly to cover in each lesson.
    In the first lesson I was thinking of starting off by asking the children what they know about Romans and Celts and producing a mind map on the board of all their information (if any).
    In pairs the chn will look at dictionaries and find out the meanings of invaders and settlers. They will write on a post it note what they think these words mean in their own words. I will have two columns on IWB and children will come up and stick on their sticky note. I will read out some of their ideas and we will have a brief discussion and I was thinking of getting the chn on the back three tables to invade the front three tables by sitting on the tables and refusing to move.
    The chn will then read two pages in a history book which gives information on the roman empire (where the Romans came from and where they invaded) and how the Romans came to Britain (and also why - lead, tin and silver).