1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Role Play

Discussion in 'Drama and performing arts' started by y9840125, Jan 23, 2011.

1. y9840125

y9840125 Occasional commenter

Hello everyone,

I am a Secondary English teacher currently writing a unit of work on role play and was wondering if anyone might have some previously tried and tested fantastic ideas for teaching role play? I am a bit out of my depth here but would welcome any suggestions :)

2. "Chair of death" always worked for me as an intro
    As herself, "a" persuades "b" to sit on the chair, which b "doesn't know" is a chair of death (which will kill them in an imaginative way, then b's will get a chance to pesuade a to sit on his chair.
    no physical contact, don't sit in the chair too soon or the roleplay is over. Don't just refuse to sit, as the roleplay never gets started
    Then try adding fictional characters and contexts- perhaps "a" is a teacher getting a pupil, "b", to sit for detention. Perhaps they are at a football match or in a beauty salon. Get them to think up their own situations- and there you go- roleplay.

3. Hello,