1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Role of technology to support teaching and learning

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by ceri_the_first, Mar 10, 2008.

1. Hi all,

This is my 1st post on this forum and I am hoping for some helpful feedback and hopefully an interesting discussion on the "Role of technology to support teaching and learning"!

I am a graduate of a Business IT course and am very interested in the use of IT in education. I have had some experience in this field during a placement year and thoroughly enjoyed it. I also designed and developed an online skills analysis tool for use with e-portfolios for my final year dissertation.

I have an interview this week for what seems to be my "dream job"!
    The job role I am hoping for is an Educational Technologist in a Blended Learning department within a university. I have been asked to give a 15 min presentation on "The role of technology to support teaching and learning"

Here are the main points I am thinking of making:

- Technology has many roles in an educational context
    - Administrative
    - Accessibility role (in terms of making resources, material accessible for those with disabilities through web standards, podcasts etc.)
    - Feedback (simple online tests allowing instant feedback, simple online publishing tools i.e. blogs to allow feedback from large audience, confidence in online publishing + feedback because of anonymity, electronic marking, electronic voting)
    - Collaborative (in group projects, internet allows collaboration between much larger audience because of lack of physical location, may become even more important as tools like Second Life allow graphical representation, video/audio conferencing)