1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Rights to intellectual property

Discussion in 'Independent' started by bookworm456, Dec 8, 2016.

1. bookworm456

bookworm456 New commenter

I've just had a new contract to sign from my school (permanent, replacing previous temporary contract) and there's a clause about intellectual property that I'm not very happy about. It states that intellectual property rights developed in the course of my employment (mentioning dramatic or musical compositions) remain the property of the school. I am a music teacher and I like to compose pieces for my choirs and ensembles, but I'm not comfortable signing over the intellectual property rights like this. Any advice?

2. Skeoch

Skeoch Established commenter

That is the normal situation for IP developed in the course of employment. The contract is only re-stating the presumption of ownership of the IP (I went to a fascinating presentation by the IPO the other day). So you aren't signing over the rights: they were never yours in law. However there is nothing to stop you negotiating special terms for your contract: might well be worth a try.
    https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/intellectual-property-office is a helpful website.
    From there: