1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Riddles and story writing tasks for KS1 SATS - help!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by fuzzyfelt, Feb 26, 2007.

1. I'm new to teaching year 2 and trying to stay calm about approaching SATS. I know one of the tasks is writing a riddle. Has anyone got any fantastic ideas about how to prepare the children for this?
    Do we get to see the criteria for marking both tasks (story and riddle)? I know the papers have arrived at my school. I'd be grateful for any advice. I was off sick for two weeks before half term and feeling a bit stressed about going back.

2. I'm new to teaching year 2 and trying to stay calm about approaching SATS. I know one of the tasks is writing a riddle. Has anyone got any fantastic ideas about how to prepare the children for this?
    Do we get to see the criteria for marking both tasks (story and riddle)? I know the papers have arrived at my school. I'd be grateful for any advice. I was off sick for two weeks before half term and feeling a bit stressed about going back.

3. i opted out of the new tasks - i'm doing last years instead. thought my lot would really struggle with riddle!

4. i opted for the new tasks/tests this year and to be honest I am glad I did. In order to prepare for the riddle, we have looked at the Annie Axworthy book "Waht am I?" The children then wrote their own. The term 'riddle' sounds daunting, but in fact it is very straight forward. if you look in the teacher handbook you will see examples of children's riddles. I do not have a particularly able Y2, but I am confident they can achieve - and don't forget, this tasks are only a snapshot to support teacher assessment!