1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Rhetorical lady on the scrap heap

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Annouska55, Dec 19, 2011.

1. <font size="3"><font face="Calibri">I have been teaching in the same school for 20 years. For most of that time I have been very happy. I am HOD and have worked as a school governor, represented the school in various capacities and have sat on LEA committees. My previous heateachers held me in high regard; I work hard, get fully involved in school life and value the students. I was invited to take up higher posts but was happy doing what I was doing.</font><font size="3">However, a new Head joined the school and I have become increasingly marginalised. He finds fault with everything I do, makes me feel uncomfortable at every opportunity and verbally bullies me when he catches me out of the sight and hearing of others. At meetings he ignores me. I am not the only one &ndash; others are being pushed towards the exit. One thing we have in common &ndash; age. We are all in our late 40s to late 50s. I cannot believe what has become of the industry I joined 35 years ago.</font></font>

2. FollyFairy

FollyFairy Occasional commenter

I am very sorry to read that you have been discriminated in this way - do you think it is age related or a personal matter? Have you spoken with your union? Perhaps you should. xx

3. Age related without a doubt. Plus, he wants new staff who are more malleable and cheaper.

4. Same thing happened where I worked. Definitely age related.

5. The Union did nothing for me. From my experience and that of others they are fairly timid in these situations.

6. AlwaysAdaptable

AlwaysAdaptable New commenter