1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Rewarding bad behaviour

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by oscar1mn, Apr 1, 2019.

1. oscar1mn

oscar1mn New commenter

Hello,

Let me start saying that I have great respect for the teaching profession. I was a secondary school teacher for four years and left it because it is a difficult job and with an enormous impact for society. So, first of all thank you to all the teachers.

I would like your professional advice about a strategy my P2 daughter's teacher is following in a class with a problematic child. This is happening in a primary school in a middle class neighbourhood, and as far as I know there are no endemic discipline problems.

There are around 22 children in the class and one of them is very aggressive, since day one he throws chairs in the air, does not sit when he wants and throws stuff to other children. He is also a very smart child and will listen and challenge the teacher even though he is roaming around the classroom.

The teacher doesn't punish his bad behaviour but rewards him when he doesn't behave badly. I will give you a few examples. When he behaves:
    - he is given stickers to give away to other children, once he said that the stickers were for those children that would do a fortnite dance, which the teacher opposed
    - he gets the tablet to play
    - he sits on teacher's lap, and once he show the finger to the class when the teacher was looking other way
    - he gets to play with whatever toy he wants

Do you think this is a strategy that will work? And if not, what mechanisms do I have as a parent to convince leadership team to change it?

Many thanks

2. grumpydogwoman

grumpydogwoman Star commenter