1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Reward systems, do they work?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by JulietBrake, Apr 12, 2011.

1. I am a third year student on a BA Hons in Primary Education. I am currently researching reward systems used in primary schools and wether they improve childrens motivation to learn or wether they just motivate them to recive the reward. I am focusing on what the children think about the different systems and how they rate them. I have come across different systems on teaching practices however would apreciate a more experienced viewpoint on the subject.

I wondered if any of you wonderful people could direct me towards any research in this area, or if there are any educational writers that are associated with this area.

Thank you in advance

2. This is an interesting thread and something that I haven't thought much about but perhaps should have.

I know there's lots of research out there, and other threads for that matter, but can I just ask something. I use raffle tickets in my class. I give them out when a child does something excellent or demonstrates excellent behaviour. Often raffle tickets are given out for children who come in straight from break and sit down ready for what's next, or for children who answer the mega-hard challenge question in a maths plenary etc. I know lots of teacher use this system (I got the idea from here originally!), so where does it fit in with giving out physical rewards for good work? We have a draw and they win something from the box (pens, sharpeners etc,). Should we be doing this at all then? What are your views? I think this is a really interesting discussion point.