1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Revision activity ideas for a difficult year 10 group?

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by Georgia99, Jun 12, 2011.

1. Georgia99

Georgia99 New commenter

I am a PGCE student and have a Year 10 class of all girls who are very challenging behaviour wise. They have their GCSE exam in a couple of weeks and my lessons with them have been around revising topics to enable them to be able to do well in their exam.
    I have used different activities including videos, group and individual worksheets and practicing the long exam questions. But it is difficult because they spend most of the lesson chatting, on their mobile phones etc.
    Can anyone give me advice on activities I can use to help motivate them or something a bit different that will help them develop the knowledge they need for the exam? They keep moaning about worksheets which I understand and the teachers in my department say they have no idea of other tactics to use?
    Any tips would be gratefully received :)

2. bigkid

bigkid New commenter

Give them a mark scheme and ask them to reverse engineer the exam paper.
    Then give them the paper and see how they do on it.

3. Random175

Random175 New commenter

Confiscate the mobile phones?

4. Do not be tempted to try group work!

5. RaymondSoltysek

RaymondSoltysek New commenter

Masses of research and anecdotal evidence clearly shows that effective and well managed group work enables
    and enhances learning and reduces disengagement and distraction. Therefore, do not be put off trying it.