1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Returning to work

Discussion in 'Parenting' started by jennybean29, Feb 28, 2012.

1. Hi everyone.
    This is my first time posting on here so apologies for the ramblings! My baby is 4 weeks old (completly loving motherhood!) and i'm planning to return to work full time in September when he is 7 months. The school I work at is about an hour away in good traffic but involves commuting through the city centre so could easily be 2 hours in rush hour. Previously I stayed at work until late to miss the traffic but obviously won't be doing this come September as by the time I get home the little one will already be ready for bed. Trying to work out whether to apply for a new position in a more local school for September or if the increased workload that comes with starting a new job would be more stressful than just staying in my current job and putting up with the commute.
    Was wondering if anyone had any similiar experiences and how they coped in the situation?
    Hope that makes sense, i'm blaming the lack of sleep for any spelling errors :)
    Jen x

2. I returned when my LO was just under 7 months. I won't lie - it has been really hard. I work locally and my childcare is right next to school. I have never been more grateful to work more locally but see your point - changing schools means establishing yourself and undertaking more work if changing syllabus etc. You have a difficult choice to make but if I were in your situation I'd probably think about trying to move a bit closer to home.