1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Returning to work after work-related stress

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by MrsO1512, Nov 30, 2019.

1. MrsO1512

MrsO1512 New commenter

Hi everyone

First time posting here, and I'm sure this will have been asked plenty of times before, but I'm not in the best mindset to trawl through forums at the moment.

Im looking for some advice in the protocol of work related sickness, and returning to work.

I've been teaching in my current primary school for several years. I absolutely love teaching, and still really enjoy being with the kids and changing lives.

However, after a change of responsibility (YGL, and other responsibilities), along with poor management, class behaviour issues (which have always been great before) and some personal issues at home - I've begun to struggle.

I did make this incredibly obvious to my HT, but as we're due to an Ofsted, no-one (not even SLT) has the capacity to support staff.

I took the difficult decision to take some time off, as I realised I was becoming a different person, and I didn't want that person to be around children.

I have been given a two week sick/fit note from my doctor, and have another appointment in a weeks time. I can't imagine going back before January - I'm really not in a good place mentally.