1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Returning to work after maternity then handing in notice

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by smell75, Nov 5, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I am a part time teacher on maternity and I was part time before going on maternity. I was planning to return a week before the May half term. However, my husband and I have decided to give our kids a better quality of life so we are going to move to a more rural area which would mean I could not carry on working at my school.
    So that I don't have to pay back any of my maternity pay can someone clarify how may weeks a part timer has to do and if I wanted to leave in July would I have worked enough weeks? Even though you leave in July does the summer holidays until September count?
    Or should I return at the May half term, hand my notice in in August to leave at the October half term, which would mean 6 weeks of commuting an hour and a half?

2. Hi,
    I am a part time teacher on maternity and I was part time before going on maternity. I was planning to return a week before the May half term. However, my husband and I have decided to give our kids a better quality of life so we are going to move to a more rural area which would mean I could not carry on working at my school.
    So that I don't have to pay back any of my maternity pay can someone clarify how may weeks a part timer has to do and if I wanted to leave in July would I have worked enough weeks? Even though you leave in July does the summer holidays until September count?
    Or should I return at the May half term, hand my notice in in August to leave at the October half term, which would mean 6 weeks of commuting an hour and a half?