1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Returning to the UK

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by blue_badger, Feb 27, 2019.

1. blue_badger

blue_badger New commenter

Hello Everyone,
    My husband and I met whilst teaching abroad 4 years ago and have decided to move back to the UK. We live in Spain so can be available for interviews.

It will have been 5 years for him and 6 years for me being away. My husband is a Secondary Geography teacher and I'm a Primary Teacher. We currently both hold Director of school roles.

Does anyone have any advice/personal experiences of moving back for work after teaching abroad? My husband has started applying for jobs and I will wait until he gets something. Nothing had come up yet so fingers crossed.

Thanks so much

2. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

Quite a lot of posters on this TES forum will probably suggest that returning to the UK might not be a good idea. There are plenty of other places to go to.

3. T0nyGT

T0nyGT Lead commenter

Most international teachers I have spoken to who moved back to the UK, quickly got out of there again. And this was pre-Brexit! I wish you luck, but be very careful about creating a massive regret

ed717 and dumbbells66 like this.
  4. Ms_Love_

Ms_Love_ Occasional commenter

Dealing with the unmanageable workload, behaviour management and constant data crunching seem to be significant complaints from people I know who returned after an international stint.