1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Returning to the UK

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by ames1978, Nov 17, 2011.

1. I have been teaching at the same school in Dubai for 5 years; prior to this, I taught for 5 years in two schools in the UK (3 years in one, 2 in the other) and held promoted posts in both schools. In the time that I have been teaching in Dubai, I can honestly say that my approaches to teaching and learning have improved significantly. I have been promoted to HoD, our results are consistently excellent (100% A* - C for English GCSE, 100% A - C for A Level) and I have been seconded to SMT; I have been part of focus groups on everything from teaching and learning, to assessment, to CPD, and have ad an input in many decisions made in terms of school development. In short, I think I am pretty good at my job (without wanting to sound full of myself!). I have now decided to return to the UK and I know that this is probably not the best time to do this with the economic situation being the way that it is, but I have applied for two jobs so far (I know, it is only two) and I have not been shortlisted for either of them. I also know it is early to be applying and that more jobs will come up as the academic year progresses, but I wondered if anyone else has had difficulty with securing a job after a stint teaching abroad? I appreciate that this might sound a bit like a rant (I suppose it is one, in a way) but I would very much appreciate some views/experiences from others who have been in a similar situation. Do UK schools see overseas experience as worthwhile/enriching?

2. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper