1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Returning to teaching (limited experience)

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by danjames86, Jan 25, 2016.

1. danjames86

danjames86 New commenter

Hi @TheoGriff. I started teacher training in 2010, completed my PGCE (Maths) and NQT year but had to leave just a term after I received QTS due to medical problems. I have been working in other fields since 2012 while I recovered and now I wish to return to teaching but feel like having such a short teaching experience on top of an even larger gap out of the field would make me appear to be an unsuitable candidate. I've been looking into Further Education courses in my subject, I've registered with the DfE Return to Teaching scheme and I've tried to get in contact with old colleagues and unions but I've not heard anything so I'm a bit unsure of where to go next or what steps I can take to present myself better. Can you help?

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Hullo there!

Are you just looking for help in finding a suitable job vacancy and how to apply?

I can certainly help there if that's what you need.

You've already done the sensible thing, by the way, in registering for Return to Teaching. What advice have they given - I'm curious here!

Best wishes

3. danjames86

danjames86 New commenter

Thanks for the quick reply. Unfortunately I'm still waiting to hear back from Return to Teaching. I'm half tempted to re-register just in case.