1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Returning to teaching - how employable will I 'look' to a school?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by jondabell, Mar 11, 2016.

1. jondabell

jondabell New commenter

I am returning to teaching after a career break.
    I was a primary school teacher for 13 years from 1999 to 2012. I grew jaded and cynical and didn't enjoy my last school. My wife and I started a family and I wanted to enjoy the little ones without weekends and evenings being about catching up on paperwork or sleep all the time!
    My wife and I stated our own very successful business in 2012, but it was recently hit during the bad floods over Christmas. We lost everything and were uninsured against flooding as we trade in a flood-risk area, meaning affordable insurance was hard to get.
    A nearby school was also massively affected by flooding, and shouted out for help. I have been working mornings with the Year 6 class in that school to help them with their subsequent staffing problems.
    I had considerable Year 6 experience (I did four years in Yr 3/4; seven years in Yr 6, one year in a Yr 7 nurture class in a high school, and one year in Yr 5). At various points Ive co-ordinated Literacy, Science, School Sports, D&T. I've also been a Key Stage co-ordinator. This stint of morning teaching work is actually reigniting me with a bit of enthusiasm for the job. Plus our business will not recover without a decent income from somewhere else.