1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Returning to teaching after a break to have a family.

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by mupsie, Apr 30, 2012.

1. I am a science teacher with 5 years teaching experience, however I have not taught since July 09. I am thinking about trying to return to teaching maybe next year (I am actually starting to miss it), has anyone been successful in returning after a break like this? Things seem to have changed a lot, would I need to do a return to teaching course? Would I need to do this if I was applying to the Independent sector? And so you retain your payscale point or do you start again? Oh and is Science still a shortage subject? So many questions!?!
    Any help, advice, pointers would be greatfully recieved.
    Thanks in advance.

2. Hi
    I had a two year baby break between 2009 and 2011, and managed to get back into it OK I think. I am secondary English. I joined an agency, and also networked like mad- luckily I was offered a 2 day a week maternity cover within a couple of weeks. I am now looking for something permanent for September, but there are NO permanent part time jobs, just maternity cover; if you're planning on returning full time, it'll probably be easier to find something permanent.
    I have continued up the pay scale as normal, and have needed no retraining, so it's definitly possible. Good luck x

3. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Well, science is <u>supposed </u>to be easier to find positions for, particularly if it's Physics.
    Doubt if any 'return to teaching courses' are running these days -too many teachers out there already.