1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Returning to teaching after 2 year break

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by ericdamon, Sep 30, 2018.

1. ericdamon

ericdamon New commenter

hi I have over 20 years teaching experience. Had to take 2 years off for family reasons. Itching to get back in the classroom.
    What do I need to know in term of major changes please? In terms of assessment etc

Thank you in adavance

2. JohnJCazorla

JohnJCazorla Star commenter

Which classroom? Primary or secondary.

Not sure there's been any major changes in the last 2 years that you would need to BS about in the interview.

One small change is that recruitment and retention has gone from bad to worse so the only searching question that will be posed (unsaid) by the interview panel is....
    "Are you likely to hang around for a few months at least"

Otherwise just be in possession of a pulse and you'll zoom into bottom-end schools.

Alice K likes this.
  3. ericdamon

ericdamon New commenter

Thank you
    And it’s primary

4. Jenkibubble

Jenkibubble Occasional commenter

Budget cuts
    The new curriculum and what is now expected by the end of ks1 and 2 - quite a jump up from before !

5. speaker2

speaker2 New commenter

Not a lot of change since 2016, IMO. AllI would say is, just take care to accept a job in a school whose culture will treat you as a human being. So, could be difficult depending where you live.

6. Lindzloo

Lindzloo New commenter