1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Returning to teach in UK - advice?!

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by Scotsden, Dec 6, 2011.

1. I'm a primary teacher, currently working in Asia, but looking to return to the UK in 18 months when my contract finishes.
    I graduated from a Scottish university 6 years ago, completed my probation year in Scotland, followed by a one year contract in Scotland covering long term sickness, but was only offered 2 days a week supply after this, which I couldn't face, so I made the decision to move to the Middle East, where I've spent the last 3 years teaching at a good international school.
    As the job situation in Scotland was still dire, I decided to move out to Asia this year for a new experience...plus the package was excellent! So far I am enjoying teaching here. I'm in a great school, which offers great CPD opportunities. But due to family issues, I've made the decision to move back to the UK when this contract finishes in 18 months.
    However, after reading some of the forums on here, I'm worried that my 5 years teaching abroad will not help me in securing a teaching job back in the UK. I had my first 2 years of teaching in Scotland with CfE, then my 3 years in the Middle East teaching English National Curriculum, and now teaching PYP in Asia. I am fully aware that the situation in Scotland is awful, and will only get worse, so I've pretty much given up hope already of getting a job there. I am thinking about London, but would consider anywhere in the UK really.